The Ijaw National Congress(INC) has concluded its National Convention in Yenagoa, Bayelsa state, with the conduct of a peaceful election into the National Executive of the body.

A Professor of Sociology and Senior Lecturer at the Federal University, Otuoke, Benjamin Okaba, was elected as the new National President after polling 162 votes to defeat three other candidates, Mr Fredrick Owotorufa , Dr Chris Ekiyor and PY Biakpara

The three newly elected Vice Presidents are Tamuno.O. Tamuno ( Eastern Zone ) Alabo Nengi James (Central Zone) and High Chief J Williams ( Western Zone) .
Also elected is Ezonebi Oyakemeagbegha as the National Publicity Secretary of the Ijaw umbrella body.

In his remarks after the election, Professor Okaba commended the indigenes of the Ijaw Nation, the delegates and the Electoral Committee for conducting a hitch-free election and security agents for providing adequate security.

Also speaking, the Publicity Secretary – elect, Engineer Oyakemeagbegha Ezonebi, expressed delight in the peaceful nature of the electoral process, recalling that the process was hijacked by hoodlums in 2019 and had to be declared inconclusive.

Ezonebi thanked the Governor of Bayelsa, Senator Duoye Diri, for providing the enabling environment for the Convention, pointing out that the neutrality of the Bayelsa governnent played a key role in ensuring a free, fair and credible election.

He commended the Professor Fubara Dagogo led Electoral Committee for a job thoroughly done and assured that the new Executive Committee would provide quality leadership that would make the Ijaw nation proud.

Other elected officers are Ebipamowei Wodu General Secretary, Samson Uropa Assistant General Secretary, Brown Philip Treasurer, Kennedy Odiowei Financial Secretary, Onengiofori Fenibo National Organizing Secretary, Bomo Tons Fetepgi National Legal Adviser, Alali Danagogo National Woman Leader, Peremo Isenah Opiah National Welfare Secretary and Abisagbo Tamara Emi National Auditor.

Share this news to: