The incumbent Governor of Ondo state, Mr Rotimi Akeredolu has been re-elected after winning 15 of the 18 local government areas to defeat his closest rival, Eyitayo Jegede, of the People’s Democratic Party, PDP.

Akeredolu, a former President of the Nigeria Bar Association (NBA), won on the back of his campaign promise to provide composed and focused leadership marked by economic growth and improved security for people of Ondo.

Governor Akeredolu of the All Progressives Congress got 292,830 votes, while Mr Eyitayo Jegede of the Peoples Democratic Party secured 195,791 votes and Mr Agboola Ajayi of the Zenith Labour Party 69,127 votes.

The Vice – Chancellor of the University of Ibadan, Professor Olayinka, who was the Chief Returning Officer for the election, announced the result on Sunday at the INEC office in Akure, which doubled as the final collation centre.
 “Having satisfied the requirement of the law and scored the highest number of votes, I hereby declare Oluwarotimi Odunayo Akeredolu of the APC as the winner, and he is hereby returned elected,” Chief Returning Officer for the election, Professor Olayinka said.

Share this news to: