Comrade Michael Ikeogwu of the Warri Correspondents chapel of the Nigeria Union of Journalists, (NUJ), Delta State Council, on Tuesday (today), returned as Chairman of the Council following his re –  election for another three – year term.

He narrowly defeated his only rival and former Secretary of the union, Comrade Churchill Oyowe, of the State Information chapel in the keenly contested election.

Salvation Ogono of the State Information chapel was elected Vice Chairman, Patrick Ochei of the Indigenous Correspondents chapel, Secretary, Felix Eku of DRTV chapel, Warri, Assistant Secretary, while Celestine Afakoba of the Federal Information chapel emerged as Treasurer of the union.

Speaking on behalf of the others after they were sworn – in, Comrade Ikeogwu thanked the electoral Committee for delivering on its mandate to conduct a credible election and promised to correct the mistakes of the past in order to take the union to enviable heights.

The election was observed by the State Commissioner for Information, Mr Charles Aniagwu, the Director –  General, State Bureau of Orientation, Mr. Eugene Uzum, the Chief Press Secretary to the Governor, Mr. Olisa Ifeajika, and Executive Assistant to the Governor on Communication, Dr. Fred Latimor.

Share this news to: