The federal government, on Monday, announced that secondary schools in the country are to reopen on 4th August, 2020, for exit classes only.

 In a statement released in Abuja, the Director, Press and Public Relations, Federal Ministry of Education, Ben Bem Goong, explained that the decision was reached at a virtual consultative meeting between the Federal Ministry of Education, Commissioners of Education of the 36 states, the Nigerian Union of Teachers, (NUT), proprietors of private schools, and Chief Executives of examination bodies.

He said the stakeholders agreed that the students in exit classes should resume immediately after the Sallah break to enable them prepare for the WAEC examinations scheduled to commence from the 17th of August, 2020.

Goong explained that stakeholders at the meeting also resolved to appeal to the federal government through the Presidential Task Force (PTF) on COVID-19 and public spirited Nigerians for assistance to schools across the country to enable them fast track the preparations for safe reopening, as agreed.

He further disclosed that another meeting would hold on Tuesday between the Federal Ministry of Education and Chief Executives of examination bodies namely, NECO, NABTEB and NBAIS to harmonise their examination dates.

For months now, the federal government has been meeting with stakeholders in education sector regarding the safe reopening of schools across the country following the prolonged shutdown of the schools due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Share this news to: