Coronavirus Disease Spreads To 20 Countries, With 170 Deaths – WHO


The World Health Organisation (WHO) has given a situation report on the coronavirus, which has spread to 20 countries, with 170 confirmed deaths.

The countries are Australia, Cambodia, Canada, China, France, Finland, Germany, India, Japan and Malaysia.

Others are Nepal, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand, United States, United Arab Emirate and Vietnam.

The world body, in a meeting of the Emergency Committee on the novel coronavirus (2019-nCoV) under the International Health Regulations (IHR 2005) held on Thursday to discuss whether the outbreak constitutes a public health emergency of international concern, confirmed first cases of 2019-nCoV acute respiratory disease in Finland, India and Philippines.

It said they were 7818 confirmed cases globally and recommended that the interim name of the disease causing the current outbreak should be “2019-nCoV acute respiratory disease”

Share this news to: