MINIMUM WAGE: DTSG Sets Up Implementation Committee


Delta State Government has constituted a Committee to parley with Organized Labor on the implementation of the new minimum wage for workers in the state public service.

The Secretary to the Delta State Government Mr. Chiedu Ebie, who inaugurated the Committee on behalf of Governor Ifeanyi Okowa, said government was passionate about the wellbeing of Public Servants in the State, and had directed that talks with Labour should commence immediately so that a mutually agreeable scheme based on the new minimum wage could be developed for Delta state workers.

The SSG is the Chairman of the Committee, with the Chief of Staff to the Governor, Olorogun David Edebvie; the State Head of Service, Mr Reginald Bayoko, Senior Policy Adviser to the Governor, Professor Sylvester Monye; Commissioner for Finance, Sir Fidelis Tilije; Chairman Civil Service Commission, Dame Nkem Okwuofu; and Chairman Local Government Bureau for Pensions, Mr. Ben Igo as members.

The Permanent Secretary, Office of the Secretary to the State Government, Mr. Jerome Morka, will serve as Secretary of the Committee.

Share this news to: